top of page
Richmond Cty Phase 2_LaneyHS photos 10.jpg


Richmond County Board of Education Building Program



Augusta, GA






Richmond County Board of Education Building Program
Phase II: School SPLOST Program (2002-2006)

total value of all projects: 
$155 million 
design professional contact:
GMK worked with 14 architectural firms during this building program.

GMK was retained to provide Program Management Services to oversee the County’s $155 million Phase II School Bond Program. With a total of 32 individual projects, the program was estimated to be completed in 60 months.
The program was comprised of three (3) New Elementary Schools (New Elementary School #1, New Elementary School #2 (both in South Richmond), and Replacement for Hornsby Elementary School), One (1) New A.R. Johnson Science Technology High School, Three (3) New Stadiums/Athletic Complexes (Westside High School, Glenn Hills High School and Laney High School).
Two schools are listed on the Historic Register and have now been historically restored to their circa 1900 exteriors while modernizing the classroom interiors and systems (C.T. Walker Elementary School and Monte Sano Elementary School).
GMK was an extension of the Board of Education’s facilities department, reporting to a Planning Committee comprised of the superintendent, deputy and assistant superintendent, school attorney, consultant, architect and comptroller. In addition, we attended board meetings as well as interfacing with a Community Oversight Committee, a group of citizen volunteers acting in an advisory capacity for
the community.
Some of the many duties of this comprehensive program include matching bond funds with the proposed budgets, providing teams for budgeting, value engineering, construction scheduling and construction sequencing. GMK also provided solutions to further the program such as ensuring efficient designs, managing costs and obtaining maximum bidder participation.

Abbreviated list of projects:
•    Gracewood Elementary School
•    Meadowbrook Elementary School
•    Monte Sano Elementary School
•    Rollins Elementary School
•    Southside Elementary School
•    Terrace Manor Elementary School
•    Bayvale Elementary School
•    Blythe Elementary School
•    Copeland Elementary School
•    Glenn Hills Elementary School
•    Barton Chapel Elementary School
•    C.T. Walker Elementary School
•    Warren Road Elementary School
•    Wheeless Road Elementary School
•    Willis Foreman Elementary School
•    Windsor Springs 
•    Elementary School
•    East Augusta Middle School
•    Langford Middle School
•    Academy of Richmond High School
•    Butler High School
•    Hephzibah High School
•    T.W. Josey High School 
•    Renovation and Fire Restoration
•    Westside High School


bottom of page